The Florida Review welcomes submissions (using this link). As of November 1, 2015, we will no longer accept general submissions via USPS mail. (We will, however, continue to accept visual art, chapbook, and contest submissions via USPS mail.) Please submit no more than one fiction, nonfiction, or graphic narrative submissions at a time. Poets may submit up to (but no more than) five poems as a single submission.

Please submit your manuscript and cover letter using the appropriate genre link, where you'll find more guidelines. We strive to respond in 3 to 6 months.

For more information about submissions, please see our website.
$2.00
The Florida Review has a tradition of recognizing new art forms--we were one of the first literary magazines to publish graphic narrative, and, before that, to open our pages to creative nonfiction. Now we would like to recognize that digital stories are an art form as well and publish some of the best in our new web magazine, Aquifer: The Florida Review Online.

Submit 3-5 minute digital stories that combine images, voiceover narration, and, as appropriate, music, sound effects, and/or video.  Compelling personal narratives concerning a variety of topics will be considered for online publication.  Digital stories should be submitted in .MP4 or .MOV format, and authors should include a title screen that lists story title and full author name, as well as a credits screen at the end that lists all image and other content sources unless they are the property of the storyteller (for example, personal photographs).  Please ensure that you have the right to use and share online all digital story content before submitting. Please note that before publishing any work, we will ask for a signed publication agreement that confirms you have acquired permission for use of any visual, auditory, or other work not your own included in your digital story, and that you accept full responsibility for doing so.

We charge a minimal submission fee in order to support the technical aspects of our online publication and to help us maintain a high level of quality submissions.  We know that in an ideal world artists and writers would be the only ones getting paid, but we can't operate without our submitters' and suscribers' support.  We hope that, in return, we will give our artists and writers much-deserved recognition, excellent artistic company, and a gateway to further opportunities.

$15.00 - 25.00
Get the best of contemporary short fiction, creative nonfiction, graphic narrative, and poetry with your own subscription to The Florida Review. Or see our Gift Subscription link to share great literature with friends, family, and fellow literati. We depend on our community of dedicated readers, as we are a self-sustaining publication.

In your cover letter, please make sure to include full address and email, as well as specifying if you'd like to start with the current issue (otherwise, your subscription will begin with the next issue). In addition, please note information for any gift subscriptions.

Please note this rate does not apply to libraries or institutions.
$15.00 - 25.00
$15.00 - 25.00
Give the gift of reading to your friends, family, and fellow literati. An especially good option if you've published work with us you'd like to share.
$6.00 - 8.00
Reading less expensive back issues is a great way for prospective Florida Review authors to get familiar with
what we publish and see whether your work might fit. Because we want to support all our prospective writers, we're offering a special rate (through Submittalbe only) on back issues--just $6.00 for a single issue or $8.00 for a double issue, with tax, shipping, and handling included! That's a great rate for 150 to 275 pages of great fiction, creative nonfiction, graphic narrative, and poetry!

Choose from the back issues at our website: https://floridareview.cah.ucf.edu/backissues.php. (Please note that if we sell out of a particular issue, we will ask to substitute a similar one.)

Back issues are also a great way to introduce students to cutting-edge contemporary writing. To order multiple copies of one issue, please use our order form at The Florida Review website. https://floridareview.cah.ucf.edu/subscriptions.php

Ends on March 31, 2017$20.00
$20.00
Open through March 31, 2017. Please note we will not start reading submissions until spring 2017 and the contest will be judged over the summer 2017.

Winner receives publication and $1,000 prize. All entries considered for publication. Winners will be announced in early fall on The Florida Review Website and Social Media and will be published the following spring. Entry fee includes one-year subscription that begins with the issue in which the winning works will appear.

Up to 5 poems per entry, and individual multiple entries in any category or combination of categories are OK. Simultaneous submissions allowed if work is withdrawn immediately upon acceptance elsewhere. This is a blind read contest--please have title only on the manuscript (no author name or other identifying information).
Ends on March 31, 2017$20.00
$20.00
Open through March 31, 2017. Please note we will not start reading submissions until spring 2017 and the contest will be judged over the summer 2017.

Winner receives publication and $1,000 prize. All entries considered for publication. Winners will be announced in early fall on The Florida Review Website and Social Media and will be published the following spring. Entry fee includes one-year subscription that begins with the issue in which the winning works will appear.

One essay per entry, but multiple individual entries by a writer in any category or combination of categories are considered. Simultaneous submissions allowed if work is withdrawn immediately upon acceptance elsewhere. This is a blind read contest--please have title only on the manuscript (no author name or other identifying information).



Ends on March 31, 2017$20.00
$20.00
Open through March 31, 2017. Please note we will not start reading submissions until spring 2017 and the contest will be judged over the summer 2017.

Winner receives publication and $1,000 prize. All entries considered for publication. Winners will be announced in early fall on The Florida Review Website and social media and will be published the following spring. Entry fee includes one-year subscription that begins with the issue in which the winning works will appear.

One story per entry, but multiple individual entries by a writer in any category or combination of categories are considered. Simultaneous submissions allowed if work is withdrawn immediately upon acceptance elsewhere. This is a blind read contest--please have title only on the manuscript (no author name or other identifying information).



$25.00

A Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, or Graphic Narrative Chapbook Award in honor of writer, teacher, editor Jeanne M. Leiby, former editor of The Florida Review and Southern Review. Submit a long story or essay, several short stories or essays, a flash prose collection, or graphic narrative (black & white).

DEADLINE: extended to 2/28/2017. Final judge: fiction writer and graphic novelist Robert Venditti, author of New York Times bestsellers The Surrogates and The Homeland Directive.

FIRST-PLACE PRIZE: chapbook publication and $1,000

2ND PLACE: Tuition to Sanibel Island Writers Conference.

All submissions considered for publication in The Florida Review. Blind read: Please do not put your name, address, or identifying information on the manuscript--only on the cover letter.
$3.00
$3.00
We consider literary fiction that takes many different approaches, from experimental to minimalist to psychologically-nuanced realism. We have published flash fiction, short-shorts, and very long, sustained narratives. There's no set page limit, but a novella or story over 21 pages would need to be exceptionally strong to merit so many pages in an issue.

Novel excerpts will be considered only if they work as stand-alone piecs.
$3.00
$3.00
We consider literary nonfiction with a range of approaches, from personal essay, to memoir, to literary journalism, to lyric essays. We read short shorts as well as substantially longer work. There isn't a page limit per se, but a manuscript over 21 pages would have to be especially good to merit so much space in an issue. Please do not submit book reviews or interviews in this category. We don't consider scholarly articles, reportage, opinion pieces, or the like.
$3.00
$3.00
We look for clear, strong poems, filled with real people, objects, emotions, and insight. We'll consider formal verse and highly experimental works, but prefer poetry in which form is secondary to content. Poets may submit 1 to 5 poems per submission.
$3.00
We consider graphic narrative that shows both artistic and literary merit. We prefer work that is character- and story-driven, whether fiction, nonfiction, or poetry. We will consider experimental as well as traditional work in this form, and seek a balance between the quality of the drawings and the words. Previous contributors of graphic narrator include Kurt Parsons, Kelly Clancy, and Jeffrey Brown.
The Florida Review seeks reviews of recent (published within the past two years) books, especially those published by small literary and university presses. Length: 500-1000 words.

We also are looking for essay-like reviews in which the reviewer contemplates 2 to 5 books, providing readers with a sense of the merits and focus of each of the books as well as putting those books in conversation with each other, their subject, and/or some aspect of contemporary writing or culture. Length: Up to 4,500 words.

Please note that we do not review books that are self-published. We also seldom publish reviews of books of biography, history, natural sciences, or other reference topics. We are looking for reviews of books with literary merit that might otherwise not receive the attention they deserve.

In 2017, we hope to begin to publish more book reviews on our new web magazine, where they will be accessible to a wider audience.
$3.00
$3.00
We consider black and white art for interior pages and color (or black and white) art for covers. Artists may submit up to four works for consideration.